Pumpkin Granola

I can’t even properly express how much I love this recipe.

These are a few of my favorite things: granola, pecans, pumpkin, honey, cinnamon, nutmeg, crunchy things, fall, warmth, food.

girl holding a bowl of granola
Hailey holding the precious bowl of golden goodness.

This recipe provides all of those things. I love it so much that as a write this post, I’m making a second batch. (The first batch was made 2 days ago and it’s already gone). I begrudgingly shared with roommates, neighbors, and friends, and it was unanimously adored. Although it is just one more recipe in a long line of pumpkin-themed dishes, it really is worth a try. I based it off of this recipe from one of my favorite blogs, “Minimalist Baker.” I didn’t feel the need to alter it too much, but I used honey instead of maple syrup (since that’s what I had on hand) and added a couple extra ingredients. Whichever recipe you go with, I am confident you will enjoy.

Here’s how I did it…

Pumpkin Granola

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 ¼ cups raw pecans
  • 1/3 cup raw pepitas
  • ¼ tsp of sea salt
  • ¾ tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • ½ cup dried cranberries
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • ½ cup chia seeds
  • ½ cup flax seed meal

Directions:

Preheat oven to 340* F. Mix the oats, nuts, seeds, spices, and salt together in a large bowl. In a small saucepan over medium-low heat, warm the coconut oil, honey and pumpkin puree and stir. Take the pan off of the heat and add vanilla. Pour over the dry ingredients and quickly mix with a wooden spoon.

Spread the mixture evenly onto two baking sheets and bake for 10 minutes. Turn the pans and/or switch between the top & bottom racks.

Once the granola is golden brown (about 20 minutes in my oven), remove from oven and let cool completely. Add in dried cranberries and store in an airtight container.

I recommend serving over yogurt or ice cream, but it’s good enough to eat by the handful!

bowl of granola
A bowl full of fall.

This stuff won’t last for very long, so if you have a lot of people coming in & out of your kitchen, I would make a double batch. Once again, this can be totally customized to suit your tastes an preferences. Let me know if you come up with any other additions!

small bowl of granola
This little guy went to the neighbors and lasted about 15 minutes before they needed a refill.

Happy baking!

 

Leave a Reply

